International Waldenstrom’s Macroglobulinemia Foundation


Officers and Board of Trustees

IWMF Officers:

  • Peter DeNardis,  Chair of the Board, Aliquippa, PA, [email protected] Chair, Executive Committee; Chair, Governance Committee; Ed Forum Committee; Audit and Finance Committee; Patient Registries Committee; Website Committee; Education Committee; Physicians Directory Committee
  • Newton Guerin, President & CEO, Spotsylvania, VA, [email protected] Executive Committee; Governance Committee; Fundraising Committee; Ed Forum Committee; Audit & Finance Committee; Website Committee; Education Committee
  • Carl Harrington, Vice Chair, Fundraising, Philadelphia, PA, [email protected] Executive Committee, Governance Committee, Chair, Global Patient Initiative
  • Thomas (Tom) H. Hoffmann, MD, FACS, ACCP, Vice-Chair, Research, Frisco, TX, [email protected] Vice-Chair, Research Committee; Executive Committee; Governance Committee; Publications Committee; Physicians Directory
  • Carl Lisman, Secretary/Treasurer, Yardley, PA, [email protected] Chair-Audit & Finance Committee; Executive Committee; Governance Committee; Fundraising Committee
  • Lisa Wise, Vice-Chair, Information & Support, Philadelphia, PA, [email protected] Chair, US LIFELINE Committee; Chair, US Support Group Committee; Executive Committee; Governance Committee; Ed Forum Committee; Physician’s Directory Committee


  • Stephen Ansell, MD, Rochester, MN, [email protected] Co-Chair, Scientific Advisory Committee
  • Glenn Cantor, DVM, PhD, Bend, OR [email protected] Research Committee; Torch Science Editor; Scientific Advisory Committee
  • Jason Euzukonis, Boxford, MA [email protected]
  • Shirley Ganse, Issaquah, WA, [email protected] IWMF Torch Magazine Editor; Chair, Judith May Volunteer Award Committee
  • Paul Kitchen, Rothesay, NB, Canada, [email protected] Chair, International Committee, Audit & Finance Committee; Fundraising Committee
  • Meg Mangin, Menomonie, WI, [email protected] Ed Forum Committee; Physicians Directory Committee; Education Committee
  • Linda Nelson, Newton, MA, [email protected] Chair, Publications Committee; Research Committee
  • Saurabh Seroo, Bangalore India [email protected]

Board Advisor:

  • Steven Treon, MD, Boston, MA, [email protected] Co-Chair, Scientific Advisory Committee

President Emerita

President Emeritus

TRUSTEES – 1998 to Present

1998 & 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004
Arnold Smokler, FL (President from 1998-1999) Norm Spector, CA Anne Greene, MD Sue Lynch, FL Judith May, CA (President from 2005-2012) (President Emerita since 2013) Dick Mann, NY John Renshaw, MD Bob Carroll, CO Ben Rude, CA (President, 2000-2004) Kathleen Ugenti, NY Davell Hays, CA Pat Kees, FL Les Smith, MD John Spencer, GA Thad Rushi, NY Michael Luttrell, CA Jim Bunton, Canada Jack Gelber, NY James Berg, PA Howard Donley, CA John Sullivan, NJ Mary Ughetta, NY Harold Caplin, CA Lou Birenbaum, MO Jim Johannsen, CA Neil Massoth, NJ Tom Myers, MD Bob Bent, IN Tom Hoffmann, M.D., AR Ron Payne, OH Ron Draftz, IL Carol Gelber, NY Peter Mitro, OH Tony Brown, CA Elinor Howenstine, CA Robert Kyle, M.D., MN Don Lindemann, CA Dave Lively, WI Karen Pindzola, PA Guy Sherwood, M.D., IN Ron Yee, PA
2007 2008 2009 2010 2012 2013
Arlene Hinchcliffe, Canada Dick Weiland, MN Roy Parker, CO Bill Paul, TN Don Brown, IL *Peter DeNardis, PA (Board Chair since 2021) Cindy Furst, CO Marty Glassman, CA Sue Herms, SC Guy Sherwood, M.D., Winnipeg, Canada Carl Harrington, PA (President from 2013-2020), (Board Chair in 2021) and (President Emeritus since 2020) Elena Malunis, NY Cynthia Ruhl, CA Marcia Klepac, PA Michael Sesnowitz, VA Marlyn Friedlander, WA
2014 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
Gayle Backmeyer, IN Eileen Lash, PA Barry Nelson, MA *Stephen Ansell, M.D., MN *Linda Nelson, MA Wanda Huskins, NY Beverly Docteur, NY *Lisa Wise, PA * Tom Hoffman, M.D., TX * Ron Branscome, VA * Shirley Ganse, WA *Newton Guerin, VA (President & CEO since 2020) *Paul Kitchen, Canada *Carl Lisman, PA *Glenn Cantor, OR * Meg Mangin, WI
2021 2022

* denotes current Trustee

** Bold blue text denotes a person who has served, or is serving, as volunteer President or volunteer Chair of the IWMF 

NOTE: The President & CEO is compensated. All other IWMF Officers and Board of Trustees are non-salaried positions and filled by volunteers.


  • 6144 Clark Center Ave.
    Sarasota, FL 34238
  • Phone: 941-927-4963
  • Fax: 941-927-4467
  • [email protected]