Scientific and Research Committees

When evaluating proposals for research funding and following up on funded project results, the IWMF relies on the assistance of several committees. The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is comprised of top WM researchers from around the world, and its members provide guidance on the direction of the IWMF’s research strategy. Research grant proposals are solicited via the process of an annual Request for Proposals and evaluated by an independent committee composed of selected members of SAC and other experts as needed. The proposals are ranked according to National Institutes of Health (NIH) review criteria and forwarded to the IWMF Board of Trustees. Generally speaking, at this stage a decision to fund a proposal is based on proposal quality and fund availability. Once approved for funding, each project’s Principal Investigator submits periodic Progress Reports to the IWMF Research Committee, which is responsible for reviewing all Progress Reports and approving scheduled payments according to the terms of each project’s contract.

For a full list of the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) download the PDF here.

Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)


NameMedical InstitutionWebsite
Stephen Ansell, MD, PhD (Co-Chair, IWMF SAC)Mayo Clinic, Rochester,
Steven Treon, MD, PhD (Co-Chair, IWMF SAC)Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston,
James R. Berenson, MDInstitute for Myeloma & Bone Cancer Research, West Hollywood,
Christian Buske, MDUniversity Hospital, Ulm,
Jorge Castillo, MDDana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston,
Morton Coleman, MDWeill Cornell Medical College, New York, New
Meletios Dimopoulos, MDAlexandra Hospital, Athens,
Stanley Frankel, MDColumbia University, New York, New
Morie Gertz, MDMayo Clinic, Rochester,
Irene Ghobrial, MDDana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston,
Zachary Hunter, PhDDana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston,
Prashant Kapoor, MD, FACPMayo Clinic, Rochester,
Efstathios Kastritis, MDNational and Kapodistrian University of Athens, School of
Eva Kimby, MDKarolinska Institute, Stockholm,
Monique Minnema, MDUMC Utrecht,
Gwen L. Nichols, MDThe Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, Rye Brook, New
Roger Owen, MDSt. James’s Institute of Oncology, Leeds, United
Lia Palomba, MDMemorial Sloan Kettering Cancer
Surinder Sahota, PhDUniversity of Southampton, United
Sheeba Thomas, MDMD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston,
Marcel Spaargaren, Ph.D.Amsterdam


Research Committee

  • Tom Hoffmann, MD, FACS, ACCP, Chair
  • Stephen Ansell, MD, Advisor
  • Suzanne Herms
  • Linda Nelson, DMD, MScD
  • David Schnell, MD
  • Guy Sherwood, MD
  • Joe Thompson, PhD
  • Martin Vanderlaan
  • Scott Whitman

NOTE: The IWMF Scientific and Research Committees are non-salaried positions. These positions are filled by volunteers, including researchers and physicians.